Frequently Asked Questions
  • Are you not able to open the client? Try following our getting started guide
  • Still not working? Try downloading and running JarFix
  • Help! My bot doesn't do anything! Enable fresh start in client settings and restart the client
  • How to purchase with PayPal/OSRS/Crypto gold? You can purchase vouchers from other users
  • Dialogues - getOption() returns only first dialogue option

Batko

Hi,

New here. Started writing my  own scripts just for fun. Written a WC and a Mining script already with banking and now trying out a Tutorial Island script.

At the start when you need to talk to the "Gielinor guide" you get to choose three options:
    "I am an experienced player."
    "I've played in the past, but not recently."
    "I am brand new! This is my first time here."

Now when i try to get the options of the dialogue, it only returns the first one.

Example code

Dialogues box = getDialogues();
    if (box != null) {
      log("Found dialogue");

String[] opts = box.getOptions();
      for (String o : opts)
        log("Options " + o);

}

only prints out the first option in the conversation.  Is it possible to  get all options, or am I doing something wrong?

Not sure why it returns only 1 option, but this is how I handle dialogues. Maybe will help:

final String[] OPTIONS = {"Yes please, I need woad leaves.", "How about 20 coins?"};

if (getDialogues().inDialogue() && !getDialogues().continueDialogue()) {
    	for(String option : OPTIONS) {
    		if (getDialogues().chooseOption(option)) {
    			break;
    		}
    	}
    }

This code snippet finds dialogue box with player choice. Then it loops my array and chooses correct option. 

getDialogues.chooseOption() checks for valid value so you don't need any null checks. 

5 hours ago, Batko said:

Hi,

New here. Started writing my  own scripts just for fun. Written a WC and a Mining script already with banking and now trying out a Tutorial Island script.